Sweet Baroque

- conclusion: Movement VI

National Arts Centre Orchestra
Conductor: Simon Streatfeild

Duration: 11 minutes
Written: 1980
Premiered: November 7, 1981
by International Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Brian Jackson
Sarnia, Canada
  • 2 Flutes
  • 2 Oboes
  • 2 Clarinets
  • 2 Bassoons
  • 2 Trumpets
  • 2 Horns
  • Timpani
  • Strings
  1. Pompose Overture (Hercules)
  2. Mischievous Allemande (Columbine)
  3. Capricious Courante (Columbina)
  4. Sarabande (Pierrot)
  5. Merry Gigue (Pierrette)
  6. Dotty Finale (Harlequin)
It has been my long-time desire to write a piece of music in a neo-classical vein; a piece that would fall somewhere between P.D.Q. Bach and Stravinsky’s Pulcinella.
Sweet Baroque, a satire in six parts, follows the pattern of a Baroque suite with an Overture and Finale. It is neoclassical in its form and language, and banal in substance. Each movement is named after one of the characters from the Commedia dell’arte. These characters may call to mind certain present-day people. The names have been changed to protect the innocent!
Following its premiere by the International Symphony Orchestra, Sweet Baroque has been performed frequently by orchestras around the country.

“Titled Sweet Baroque, this was an affectionate homage to suites of the baroque era. While this sort of thing has been done before, most notably by Richard Strauss and Igor Stravinisky, Koprowski's venture showed charm and skill, and drew truly immaculate playing from the musicians.”

- The OTTAWA CITIZEN; January 16, 1986