Portrait of Peter Paul Koprowski thumbtack

Sweet Baroque

Duration: 11 minutes

Written: 1980

Premiered: November 7, 1981

International Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Brian Jackson


  • 2 Flutes
  • 2 Oboes
  • 2 Clarinets
  • 2 Bassoons
  • 2 Trumpets
  • 2 Horns
  • Timpani
  • Strings


  1. Pompose Overture (Hercules)
  2. Mischievous Allemande (Columbine)
  3. Capricious Courante (Columbina)
  4. Sombre Sarabande (Pierrot)
  5. Merry Gigue (Pierrette)
  6. Dotty Finale (Harlequin)


It has been my long-time desire to write a piece of music in a neo-classical vein; a piece that would fall somewhere between P.D.Q. Bach and Stravinsky's Pulcinella.

Sweet Baroque, a satire in six parts, follows the pattern of a Baroque suite with an Overture and Finale. It is neoclassical in its form and language, and banal in substance.

Each movement is named after one of the characters from the Commedia dell'arte. These characters may call to mind certain present-day people. The names have been changed to protect the innocent!

Following its premiere by the International Symphony Orchestra, Sweet Baroque has been performed frequently by orchestras around the country.